freedom2.jpg

自由的危机

人权

全球民主在 2006 年左右达到顶峰,自那时以来每年出现净下降,“世界上超过一半的成熟民主国家”恶化。 (1)美国已经低于传统的民主同行和自己的历史标准,从“完全民主”恶化为“有缺陷的民主”。

 

言论自由、新闻自由、良心自由等不可剥夺的普遍人权受到越来越多的侵犯。 无国界记者组织在 2015 年警告说,随着“冲突的扩散……所有交战各方无一例外地发动了一场可怕的信息战”,媒体“成为战略目标” ,需要控制或压制。(2) 2019 年,该组织在报告中称“被认为是安全的、记者可以在完全安全的情况下工作的国家数量继续减少,而威权政权继续加强对媒体的控制。”(3)

 

绝大多数即将入学的美国大学新生在 2019 年首次支持限制言论。(4) 活动人士对不同意见表示不容忍,“好像言论自由是零和一样”,持不同意见的发言者一再被“拒绝或拒绝”。被迫退出校园演讲活动。”(5)

 

皮尤研究中心报告称,从 2007 年到 2017 年,“世界各地限制宗教信仰和实践的国家官员的法律、政策和行动显着增加。自 2007 年以来,涉及宗教的社会敌对行为——包括个人或团体的暴力和骚扰——也有所增加。”(6)

 

世界上最有权势的人不再是西方民主国家的总统,而是长期侵犯人权的独裁者,因为“权力集中在世界少数精英手中”仍在继续。(7)中国长达数十年的改革时代( 8)和俄罗斯(9) 分别在 2018 年和 2020 年的“宪政政变”结束,独裁者现在定位为终身统治。在美国和欧洲,随着政治精英试图“将居民从公民转变为依赖客户”,民主制度正在受到侵蚀。(10) 政治团体一直在努力巩固对表面上中立的社会权力中心的控制。 党派化的司法系统对反对者进行政治起诉,而偏爱的人很少被追究责任。

 

西方政府、媒体和非政府组织中表面上的人权捍卫者在面对威权主义的侵蚀时一直保持沉默或同谋。一些自称是政治中立的公共利益团体的组织公然推行党派议程。 文明程度下降,党派仇恨继续达到历史最高水平,美国两个主要政党的大量附属机构对对方持有“非常不利”的观点,(11) 政治观点越来越多地定义了个人关系。 在美国自由派和保守派之间, “他们转向和信任的新闻来源几乎没有重叠。”(12) 美国人对基本事实的分歧越来越大。(13) 自 2011 年以来,只有六家企业集团控制了 90% 的美国媒体,提供了“选择的幻觉”。(14) 一些司法管辖区的选举规则发生了巨大变化,公众意见很少或根本没有,有时是通过与不负责任的利益集团进行不透明的幕后交易。(15)  

  

反对压迫、侵蚀人权和去民主化是每个人的责任,无论政治偏好或首选候选人如何。

 

参考

1. 雷普奇,莎拉。 2020.“2020 年世界自由:民主的无领导斗争”。自由之家。 https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/2020/leaderless-struggle-democracy 

2. 记者无国界。 2015.“2015 年世界新闻自由指数”。 https://rsf.org/en/world-press-freedom-index-2015 

3. 记者无国界。 2019.“2019 年世界新闻自由指数——恐惧的循环”。 https://rsf.org/en/2019-world-press-freedom-index-cycle-fear 

4. Stolzenberg Ellen B.、Aragon MC、Romo E、Couch V、McLennan D、Eagan MK、Kang N. 2020。“美国新生:2019 年秋季国家规范”,41.高等教育研究所 - 加州大学洛杉矶分校. https://www.heri.ucla.edu/monographs/TheAmericanFreshman2019.pdf 

5. 兰佩尔,凯瑟琳。 “自由主义的不容忍现象在美国的大学校园中呈上升趋势。” 2016. 华盛顿邮报,2016 年 2 月 11 日。 https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/liberal-but-not-operator-on-the-nations-college-campuses/2016/02/11/0f79e8e8-d101- 11e5-88cd-753e80cd29ad_story.html 

6. 仔细看看世界各地的宗教限制是如何兴起的。”皮尤研究中心,2019 年 7 月 15 日。https: //www.pewforum.org/2019/07/15/a-closer-look-at-how-religious-restrictions-have-risen-around-the-world/ 

7. Ewalt, David M. 2018。“2018 年世界上最有权势的人”。福布斯,2018 年 5 月 8 日。 https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidewalt/2018/05/08/the-worlds-most-powerful-people-2018 

8.杜贝克,詹姆斯。 2018.“中国取消总统任期限制,使习近平能够无限期统治。”国家公共广播电台,2018 年 3 月 11 日。 https://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2018/03/11/592694991/china-removes-presidential-term-limits-enabling-xi-jinping-to -无限期地统治 

9. 卡拉-穆尔扎,弗拉基米尔。 2020. “弗拉基米尔·普京刚刚发动了一场宪法政变。俄罗斯人将如何反应?”华盛顿邮报,2020 年 1 月 17 日。 https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2020/01/17/vladimir-putin-just-staged-constitutional-coup-how-will-russians-react 

10.克劳斯,瓦茨拉夫。 “欧洲无所不包:了解当前的移民危机。” Gatestone Institute,2018 年 3 月 28 日。https: //www.gatestoneinstitute.org/12101/vaclav-klaus-budapest-speech 

11.“2016 年的党派之争和政治仇恨”。 皮尤研究中心,2016 年 6 月 22 日。https://www.pewresearch.org/politics/2016/06/22/partisanship-and-political-animosity-in-2016/ 

12. 米切尔、艾米等人。 2014.“政治两极分化和媒体习惯”。皮尤研究中心,2014 年 10 月 21 日。https://www.journalism.org/2014/10/21/political-polarization-media-habits/ 

13. 巴塞尔、迈克尔、艾米米切尔和杰西霍尔科姆。 2016.“许多美国人相信假新闻正在播下混乱”。皮尤研究中心,2016 年 12 月 15 日。https://www.journalism.org/2016/12/15/many-americans-believe-fake-news-is-sowing-confusion/ 

14. 卢茨,阿什利。 2012 “这 6 家公司控制着美国 90% 的媒体。”商业内幕,2012 年 6 月 14 日。https://www.businessinsider.com/these-6-corporations-control-90-of-the-media-in-america-2012-6 

15. 鲍尔,莫莉。 “拯救 2020 年大选的影子运动的秘史”。时间,2021 年 2 月 4 日。https: //time.com/5936036/secret-2020-election-campaign/

freedom2.jpg

Liberty's Crisis

Human Rights

Democracy worldwide peaked in approximately 2006 and has experienced net annual declines since that time, with deterioration of “more than half of the world’s established democracies.”(1) The United States has fallen below the traditional democratic peers and its own historical standards, deteriorating from a “full democracy” to a “flawed democracy.”

 

Inalienable and universal human rights, including freedom of speech, freedom of press, freedom of conscience, and others, have been increasingly infringed.  Reporters without Borders warned in 2015 that as “conflicts proliferated…all warring parties without exception waged a fearsome information war” in which media “became strategic targets” to be controlled or silenced.(2) In 2019, the group reported in that "the number of countries regarded as safe, where journalists can work in complete security, continues to decline, while authoritarian regimes continue to tighten their grip on the media."(3)

 

An absolute majority of incoming U.S. college freshmen favored restrictions on speech for the first time in 2019.(4) Activists have conveyed intolerance to dissenting views “as if free speech were zero sum,” and speakers with dissenting views have repeatedly been “disinvited or forced to withdraw from campus speaking engagements.”(5)

 

The Pew Research Center reported that from 2007 to 2017, “laws, policies and actions by state officials that restrict religious beliefs and practices have increased markedly around the world. And social hostilities involving religion – including violence and harassment by private individuals or groups – also have risen since 2007.”(6)

 

The world’s most powerful people are no longer presidents of Western democracies, but authoritarians with long records of human rights abuses as “consolidation of power in the hands of an elite few worldwide” continues.(7) The decades-long reform era in China (8) and Russia (9) is over following “constitutional coups” in 2018 and 2020, respectively, by autocrats now positioned to rule for life. In the United States and Europe, democratic institutions are eroding as the political elites attempt to “turn inhabitants from citizens into dependent clients.”(10) Political groups have worked to consolidate control of ostensibly neutral societal power centers.  Partisanized justice systems engage in political prosecutions of opponents while favorites are rarely if ever held accountable.

 

Ostensible defenders of human rights in Western governments, the press, and non-governmental organizations have been silent or complicit in the face of encroaching authoritarianism. Some organizations professing to be politically neutral public interest groups have pursued blatantly partisan agendas.  Civility has declined and partisan animosity has continued to reach all-time highs, with large numbers of affiliates of both major US political parties holding “very unfavorable” views of the other,(11) and political viewpoints increasingly defining personal relationships.  Between American liberals and conservatives, there is “little overlap in the news sources they turn to and trust.”(12)  Americans increasingly disagree over basic facts.(13) Just six corporate conglomerates have controlled 90% of US media since 2011, providing the “illusion of choice.”(14)  Election rules have undergone drastic changes in some jurisdictions with little or no public input, at times through opaque backroom deals with unaccountable interest groups.(15) 

  

Standing against oppression, erosion of human rights, and de-democratization is everyone's duty, regardless of political preferences or preferred candidates.

 

References

1. Repucci, Sarah. 2020. “Freedom in the World 2020: A Leaderless Struggle for Democracy.” Freedom House. https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/2020/leaderless-struggle-democracy 

2. Reporters Without Borders. 2015. “World Press Freedom Index 2015.” https://rsf.org/en/world-press-freedom-index-2015 

3. Reporters Without Borders. 2019. "2019 World Press Freedom Index - A cycle of fear." https://rsf.org/en/2019-world-press-freedom-index-cycle-fear 

4. Stolzenberg Ellen B., Aragon MC, Romo E, Couch V, McLennan D, Eagan MK, Kang N. 2020. "The American Freshman: National Norms Fall 2019,” 41. Higher Education Research Institute - University of California Los Angeles. https://www.heri.ucla.edu/monographs/TheAmericanFreshman2019.pdf 

5. Rampell, Catherine. "Liberal intolerance is on the rise on America's college campuses." 2016. Washington Post, February 11, 2016. https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/liberal-but-not-tolerant-on-the-nations-college-campuses/2016/02/11/0f79e8e8-d101-11e5-88cd-753e80cd29ad_story.html 

6. A Closer Look at How Religious Restrictions Have Risen Around the World.” Pew Research Center, July 15, 2019. https://www.pewforum.org/2019/07/15/a-closer-look-at-how-religious-restrictions-have-risen-around-the-world/ 

7. Ewalt, David M. 2018. "The World's Most Powerful People 2018." Forbes, May 8, 2018. https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidewalt/2018/05/08/the-worlds-most-powerful-people-2018 

8. Doubek, James. 2018. "China Removes Presidential Term Limits, Enabling Xi Jinping To Rule Indefinitely." National Public Radio, March 11, 2018. https://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2018/03/11/592694991/china-removes-presidential-term-limits-enabling-xi-jinping-to-rule-indefinitely 

9. Kara-Murza, Vladimir. 2020. "Vladimir Putin just staged a constitutional coup. How will Russians react?" Washington Post, January 17, 2020. https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2020/01/17/vladimir-putin-just-staged-constitutional-coup-how-will-russians-react 

10. Klaus, Václav. "Europe All Inclusive: Understanding the Current Migration Crisis." Gatestone Institute, 28 March 2018. https://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/12101/vaclav-klaus-budapest-speech 

11. “Partisanship and Political Animosity in 2016.”  Pew Research Center, June 22, 2016. https://www.pewresearch.org/politics/2016/06/22/partisanship-and-political-animosity-in-2016/ 

12. Mitchell, Amy, et al. 2014. "Political Polarization and Media Habits." Pew Research Center, October 21, 2014. https://www.journalism.org/2014/10/21/political-polarization-media-habits/ 

13.  Barthel, Michael, Amy Mitchell and Jesse Holcomb. 2016. "Many Americans Believe Fake News Is Sowing Confusion." Pew Research Center, December 15, 2016. https://www.journalism.org/2016/12/15/many-americans-believe-fake-news-is-sowing-confusion/ 

14.  Lutz, Ashley. 2012 "These 6 Corporations Control 90% of the Media in America." Business Insider, June 14, 2012. https://www.businessinsider.com/these-6-corporations-control-90-of-the-media-in-america-2012-6 

15. Ball, Molly. "The Secret History of the Shadow Campaign That Saved the 2020 Election." Time, February 4, 2021. https://time.com/5936036/secret-2020-election-campaign/