关于 Liberty.org

来自我们的创始人 Anastasia Pateruk 的一封信

我来自乌克兰,毕业于国立大学敖德萨法学院  2021年,我成为美国公民。在俄罗斯开始全面入侵我的祖国后,我创办了 Liberty.org 非营利组织,我全家都还居住在那里。  

今天,西方民主国家的人们比人类历史上的绝大多数人,甚至比大多数其他国家的同时代人都经历着更有利的条件。 当今世界上存在着巨大的苦难和邪恶。与其他人面临的问题相比,人们担心的许多事情都是微不足道的。

anastasia photo.jpg

许多人没有我们西方认为理所当然的自由。 联合国 1948  《世界人权宣言》阐明了所有人表面上不可剥夺的权利。每个人都有言论自由、信息自由、良心自由、选择相信什么和嫁给谁的权利。然而它的许多 会员国系统地侵犯其人民的权利。 许多人控制人们可以阅读、听到和说出的内容。 人们被灌输了宣传的饮食, 无论是政治的、宗教的还是意识形态的,他们都被禁止不同意,并且服务于当权者的议程。即使在西方,权利也越来越受到侵犯。

许多人认为,20 世纪解决了关键争端。第一次世界大战表面上解决了人民的民族自决权。第二次世界大战是《世界人权宣言》的推动力,它肯定了所有人的价值和尊严。 我们得到承诺,这些冲突和暴行可能“永远不会再发生”,世界将“永远不会忘记”。但是今天,这些权利正在被国家、团体和个人剥夺。从俄罗斯的普京到无情的犯罪卡特尔,有些人将他们指定的敌人定性为非人类并将其视为非人类,剥夺了他们不可剥夺的权利而无法补救。

挑战不仅仅是暴力和虐待的肇事者,包括国家和非国家行为者。 也是许多心地善良的人,不为与邪恶作斗争。报价 不准确地归因于埃德蒙·伯克(Edmund Burke)说:“邪恶胜利的唯一必要条件是好男人[和女人]什么都不做。”有多少人把时间花在不那么重要的事情上,而对改善世界却很少做? 其他人,不了解历史或持有扭曲的观点,不知不觉地促成了暴力和压迫。

犯罪分子和独裁者行为不端是因为他们从中受益。他们被强加的成本大于预期收益的顽固抵抗所劝阻和击败。我们这个世界的邪恶势力既不强大也不勇敢,而是被好心人的冷漠和不作为所赋予的力量。

我创建这个网站是因为我相信人很重要,因为我不能在世界燃烧的时候无所事事。 请加入我们的工作以有所作为。

关于 Liberty.Org

Liberty.org 是一个无党派的草根人权组织,由热衷于让我们的社区、我们的国家和世界变得更美好的志愿者经营。

 

我们的志愿者来自各个政治领域。我们重视人权、民主和公共诚信。我们支持和平倡导和民间对话。我们以最强烈的措辞拒绝任何和所有煽动、支持、美化或参与暴力的组织、团体和个人。

 

我们是一个权利倡导团体,而不是一个新闻机构。我们不提供法律服务或建议。文章和帖子包括社论和意见内容,不是新闻项目。 根据“合理使用”原则从参考来源中引用选择,作为符合公共利益的教育和政策分析的变革性非商业用途。网站图片包括从 Shutterstock 获得许可的一些项目。

为了保持我们的独立性,我们目前不接受捐款。我们希望您喜欢我们的网站。

我们相信所有人都可以拥抱自己,
可以定义他们的未来,可以改变世界。

 
multicultural.jpg

我们的任务

我们的使命包括教育和倡导自由和人权、促进公民参与以及文明、尊重的话语。

multicultural.jpg
freedom.jpg

我们的愿景

我们寻求一个公正、自由的世界,在这个世界中,所有人和所有国家的人权都得到尊重。

我们今天需要您的支持!

About Liberty.org

A Note from Our Founder, Anastasia Pateruk

I am from Ukraine and am a graduate of the National University Odesa Law Academy.  In 2021, I became a US citizen. I started the Liberty.org nonprofit organization after Russia began full-scale invasion of my native country where all my family still live. 

People in Western democracies today experience more favorable conditions than the vast majority throughout human history, or even than contemporaries in most other countries.  Great suffering and evil exist in the world today. Many of the things that people worry about are small compared to problems that others face.

anastasia photo.jpg

Many people do not have the freedoms that we in the West take for granted.  The United Nations' 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights articulated ostensibly inalienable rights of all people. Everyone has a right to freedom of speech, freedom of information, freedom of conscience, to chose what to believe and who to marry. Yet many of its member states systematically violate their people's rights.  Many control what people can read, hear, and speak.  People are fed a diet of propaganda, whether political, religious, or ideological, with which they are forbidden to disagree, and which serves the agenda of those in power. Even in the West, rights have been increasingly infringed.

Many thought that the Twentieth Century resolved key disputes. The first World War ostensibly resolved the right of peoples to national self-determination. The second World War was the impetus for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, affirming the worth and dignity of all people.  We were promised that these conflicts and atrocities could occur "never again" and that the world would "never forget." But today, these rights are being denied by states, groups, and individuals. Some, from Russia's Putin to ruthless criminal cartels, characterize and treat their designated foes as non-humans, depriving them of inalienable rights without remedy.

The challenge is not only the perpetrators of violence and abuse, including both state and non-state actors.  It is also the many well-intended people who do nothing to fight evil. A quote inaccurately attributed to Edmund Burke states that "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men [and women] to do nothing." How many people spend their time on things that are not so important while doing little to improve the world?  Others, unaware of history or holding distorted views, unwittingly enable violence and oppression.

Criminals and dictators conduct themselves badly because they benefit from doing so. They are dissuaded and defeated by stiff resistance imposing costs greater than perceived gains. The evil forces in our world are neither strong nor brave, but are empowered by the indifference and inaction of well-meaning people.

I started this site because I believe that people matter, and because I cannot sit idle while the world burns.  Please join us in working to make a difference.

About Liberty.Org

Liberty.org is a nonpartisan grassroots human rights organization run by volunteers passionate about making our communities, our nation, and world better.

 

Our volunteers come from across the political spectrum. We value human rights, democracy, and public integrity. We support peaceful advocacy and civil discourse. We repudiate in the strongest possible terms any and all organizations, groups, and individuals that incite, support, glorify, or engage in violence.

 

We are a rights advocacy group and not a news organization. We do not provide legal services or advice. Articles and posts include editorial and opinion content and are not news items.  Selections are quoted from referenced sources in accordance with the "fair use" doctrine as a transformative, non-commercial use for education and policy analysis in the public interest. Site images include some items licensed from Shutterstock.

To maintain our independence, we currently do not accept donations. We hope you enjoy our site.

We believe all people can embrace who they are,
can define their future, and can change the world.

 
multicultural.jpg

Our Mission

Our missions include education and advocacy for liberty and human rights, promotion of civic engagement, and civil, respectful discourse.

multicultural.jpg
freedom.jpg

Our Vision

We seek a just, free world in which human rights are respected for all people and in all nations.

We Need Your Support Today!