truth.jpg

真相

人权

真理是必不可少的

寻求真理是世界伟大道德和知识传统的中心。 科学是对真理的探索,将过程系统化,旨在最大程度地减少偏见,以得出由数据而非议程和先入为主的结论。 哲学通过不同的方法,通过探求真理、划定界限来寻求启蒙。

耶稣教导说,他忠心的门徒“会知道真理,真理会让你自由”(约翰福音 8:32)。 在伊斯兰教中,“一个人在放弃谎言之前永远无法找到信仰的真正滋味”这句话归功于伊玛目阿里。 犹太教将真理等同于神圣:“主神是真理”(耶利米书 10:10)和“你的托拉是真理”(诗篇 119:142)。 佛教教导四圣谛和三谛。 印度教将真理视为婆罗门,即基本的精神现实。其他信仰认为真理很重要。无神论者和不可知论者也广泛引用他们的世界观是基于他们对真理的理解,以及对知识局限性的认识。

政治领域的人物也提到了真相的重要性。 已故美国参议员丹尼尔·帕特里克·莫伊尼汉 (D-NY) 表示:“每个人都有权发表自己的意见,但无权获得自己的事实。”前参议员 Jim DeMint (R-SC) 表示:“真相对于人们自由生活至关重要......当他们的世界观被谎言塑造时,人们无法做出明智的决定......”

谎言与暴力密不可分

俄罗斯道德家和诺贝尔奖获得者亚历山大·索尔仁尼琴曾在俄罗斯的监狱集中营中幸存多年,他观察到谎言和暴力是密不可分的。 他在诺贝尔奖演讲中说:

“但我们不要忘记,暴力本身不存在,也不可能独立存在:它总是与谎言交织在一起。它们以最亲密、最有机、最深刻的方式联系在一起:暴力不能隐藏在谎言之外,谎言有没有什么可以维系他们的,只有暴力。任何曾经宣称暴力是他的方法的人,必然选择谎言作为他的原则。

“一出生,暴力就公开行动,甚至以自己为荣。但一旦它获得力量并站稳脚跟,它就开始感觉到它周围的空气变得越来越稀薄;如果不将自己笼罩在谎言的迷雾中,它就无法存在,而不会隐藏在虚假的甜言蜜语后面。

“暴力不再总是而且必然直刺你的喉咙;它通常只要求其臣民宣誓效忠于谎言,参与谎言。
“一个普通勇敢者的简单行为是不参与谎言,不支持虚假行为!他的规则:让它来到这个世界,让它甚至统治至高无上——只是不要通过我。”[1]
 

因为暴力和压迫只能用谎言来掩盖,谎言只能通过暴力来实施,全世界的威权主义者都在寻求压制言论和新闻中信息的自由流动。 作者汤姆克兰西观察到:“控制信息是精英们一直在做的事情,特别是在专制政府形式中。信息就是知识,就是力量。如果你能控制信息,你就能控制人。”[2]  

谎言杀死

在俄罗斯入侵乌克兰初期,故意轰炸妇产医院造成妇女和儿童死亡,这被俄罗斯编造为对民兵基地的袭击。 俄罗斯承认故意轰炸医院,但否认那里有任何病人,声称这是一个民兵基地,并进一步声称现场照片和视频中受伤的孕妇是付费演员。无论是当地居民、市长和应急人员的证词、现场照片和视频,还是国际人道主义组织的确认,都无法让许多俄罗斯人相信那里有孕妇。

 

许多乌克兰人发现,他们的俄罗斯朋友和家人如此热衷于俄罗斯的宣传,以至于他们甚至不相信乌克兰正在发生战争。许多乌克兰人描述了俄罗斯亲属的离奇情况,而不是试图在官方宣传的基础上告诉他们乌克兰正在发生的事情。社交媒体账户上充斥着这样的例子。包括纽约时报英国广播公司 (BBC)卫报 (英国)人物杂志等在内的多家独立新闻媒体的报道中也记录了这一点。  

《纽约时报》一篇题为“俄罗斯,所有新闻都是假的”的文章指出,俄罗斯“已成为腐败信息的反乌托邦典范”。当代俄罗斯的情况可以说比苏联时期更糟,因为苏联时代的许多人对外部信息持开放态度,但无法接触。今天,许多人已经被充分灌输,以至于他们系统地无视外部信息和证据,将其注销 先验 作为阴谋的西方演员的作品。

这些谎言在杀人或杀人时是必然的——正如索尔仁尼琴在 50 多年前观察到的那样。

参考

索尔仁尼琴,亚历山大。 诺贝尔演讲,1970 年。 

谢弗,莎拉。 “冯内古特和克兰西谈技术。” Inc. 杂志,1995 年 12 月 15 日。https://www.inc.com/magazine/19951215/2653.html

奥鲁,毛罗。 “俄罗斯称袭击医院是民兵基地;乌克兰强烈否认。”华尔街日报,2022 年 3 月 10 日。  https://www.wsj.com/livecoverage/russia-ukraine-latest-news-2022-03-09/card/russia-says-hospital-hit-by-air-strike-was-militia-base-ZVKUAyTh4kfMPvpqBIz6
霍普金斯,瓦莱丽。 “乌克兰人发现俄罗斯的亲戚不相信这是一场战争。”纽约时报,2022 年 3 月 6 日。  https://www.nytimes.com/2022/03/06/world/europe/ukraine-russia-families.html
科伦纽克、玛丽亚和杰克古德曼。 “乌克兰战争:‘我的城市遭到炮击,但妈妈不会相信我。’”BBC 新闻,2022 年 3 月 4 日。  https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-60600487
Tondo、Lorenzo 和 Mark Rice-Oxley。 “‘他们不相信这是真的’:战争如何分裂了乌克兰和俄罗斯的家庭。”卫报(英国),2022 年 3 月 18 日。https: //www.theguardian.com/world/2022/mar/18/ukraine-russia-families-divided-over-war

弗吉尼亚州查姆利。 “他们试图在入侵中幸存下来——并说服俄罗斯的亲人,甚至还有一场全面战争。”  People.com,2022 年 3 月 8 日。 https://people.com/politics/ukrainians-whose-russian-families-dont-believe-there-is-a-war/ 

布鲁尼,弗兰克。 “俄罗斯,所有新闻都是假的。”纽约时报,2022 年 3 月 10 日。https: //www.nytimes.com/2022/03/10/opinion/russia-ukraine-fake-news.html

truth.jpg

Truth

Human Rights

Truth is Essential

The search for truth is at the center of the world's great moral and intellectual traditions.  Science is a search for truth, systematizing processes intended to minimize bias to arrive at conclusions driven by the data rather than agenda and preconception.  Philosophy, through different methods, seeks enlightenment by probing for truth and defining its boundaries.

Jesus taught that his faithful disciples "will know the truth, and the truth will set you free" (John 8:32 NIV).  In Islam, the statement that “a person can never find the true taste of faith until he abandons lying” is attributed to Imam Ali.  Judaism equates truth with the divine: "The Lord God is truth” (Jeremiah 10:10) and “Thy Torah is truth” (Psalms 119:142).  Buddhism teaches four "Noble Truths" and three "Universal Truths."  Hinduism sees truth as Brahman, the essential spiritual reality. Other faiths impute importance to truth. Atheists and agnostics, too, widely cite their worldviews being based in their understanding of truth, as well as awareness of knowledge's limitations.

Figures across the political spectrum also cite the importance of truth.  The late US Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan (D-NY) stated: “Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” Former Senator Jim DeMint (R-SC) stated, “Truth is critical for people to live free...People are not able to make wise decisions when their worldviews are shaped by lies...”

Lies and Violence Are Inextricably Intertwined

Russian moralist and Nobel laureate Aleksander Solzhenitsyn, who survived for years in Russian prison camps, observed that lies and violence are inextricably intertwined.  He stated in his Nobel speech:

"But let us not forget that violence does not and cannot exist by itself: It is invariably intertwined with the lie. They are linked in the most intimate, most organic and profound fashion: Violence cannot conceal itself behind anything except lies, and lies have nothing to maintain them save violence. Anyone who has once proclaimed violence as his method must inexorably choose the lie as his principle.

"At birth, violence acts openly and even takes pride in itself. But as soon as it gains strength and becomes firmly established, it begins to sense the air around it growing thinner; it can no longer exist without veiling itself in a mist of lies, without concealing itself behind the sugary words of falsehood.

"No longer does violence always and necessarily lunge straight for your throat; more often than not it demands of its subjects only that they pledge allegiance to lies, that they participate in falsehood.
"The simple act of an ordinary brave man is not to participate in lies, not to support false actions! His rule: Let that come into the world, let it even reign supreme—only not through me."[1]
 

Because violence and oppression can only be concealed by lies, and lies can be enforced only by violence, authoritarians worldwide seek to suppress free flow of information in speech and press.  Author Tom Clancy observed that “The control of information is something the elite always does, particularly in a despotic form of government. Information is knowledge, is power. If you can control information, you can control people.”[2]  

Lies Kill

Early in Russia's invasion of Ukraine, the intentionally bombing of maternity hospital killing both women and children was spun by Russia as an attack on a militia base.  Russia admitted to intentionally bombing the hospital but denied that there were any patients there, claiming it was a militia base and further claiming that injured pregnant women in photos and videos of the scene were paid actors. Neither the testimony of local residents and the city's mayor and emergency personnel, photos and video from the site, or confirmation by international humanitarian organizations could convince many Russians that there were pregnant women.

 

Many Ukrainians have found that their Russian friends and family members are so steeped in Russian propaganda that they did not believe that a war was even occurring in Ukraine. Many Ukrainians have described the bizarre situation of Russian relatives instead trying to tell them what is happening in Ukraine on the basis of official propaganda. Social media accounts are awash with such examples. This has also been documented in stories by multiple independent news outlets including the New York Times, the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), The Guardian (UK), People Magazine, and others. 

A New York Times piece entitled "Russia, Where All the News is Fake" observed that Russia "has become a dystopian paragon of corrupted information." The situation in contemporary Russia is arguably worse than under the Soviet Union, as many individuals in Soviet times were open to outside information but did not have access. Today, many have been sufficiently indoctrinated that they systematically disregard outside information and evidence, writing it off a priori as the work of conspiratorial Western actors.

These lies are consequential as they kill, or enable killing - just as Solzhenitsyn observed more than fifty years ago.

References

Solzhenitsyn, Aleksander.  Nobel Speech, 1970. 

Schafer, Sarah. "Vonnegut and Clancy on Technology." Inc. Magazine, December 15, 1995. https://www.inc.com/magazine/19951215/2653.html

Orru, Mauro. "Russia Says Struck Hospital Was Militia Base; Ukraine Issues Strong Denial." Wall Street Journal, March 10, 2022. https://www.wsj.com/livecoverage/russia-ukraine-latest-news-2022-03-09/card/russia-says-hospital-hit-by-air-strike-was-militia-base-ZVKUAyTh4kfMPvpqBIz6
Hopkins, Valerie. "Ukrainians Find That Relatives in Russia Don’t Believe It’s a War." New York Times, March 6, 2022.  https://www.nytimes.com/2022/03/06/world/europe/ukraine-russia-families.html
Korenyuk, Maria and Jack Goodman. "Ukraine war: 'My city's being shelled, but mum won’t believe me.'" BBC News, March 4, 2022.  https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-60600487
Tondo, Lorenzo and Mark Rice-Oxley. "‘They don’t believe it’s real’: how war has split Ukrainian-Russian families." The Guardian (UK), March 18, 2022. https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/mar/18/ukraine-russia-families-divided-over-war

Chamlee, Virginia. "They're Trying to Survive the Invasion — and Convince Loved Ones in Russia There's Even a Full-Scale War."  People.com, March 8, 2022. https://people.com/politics/ukrainians-whose-russian-families-dont-believe-there-is-a-war/ 

Bruni, Frank. "Russia, Where All the News is Fake." New York Times, March 10, 2022. https://www.nytimes.com/2022/03/10/opinion/russia-ukraine-fake-news.html